Skip to content

50 Comments

  1. joevoyles2005
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:19 pm

    so new podcast or did I miss it or something?

  2. SleuthCriminal
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:19 pm

    Dragon Quest is such a good series. Even if they just completly change the system.
    Cant say that for final fantasy…lol ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. desertrose0601
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:20 pm

    Yup. I just bought this game and really like it. My only complaint is that I’d rather play in first-person but maybe they’ll add that in the sequel.

  4. Kaythar
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:20 pm

    That game looks so good, wish I had a PS4 to play it. Though I see there’s a Vita version but never heard of it…is it real? And if so, is it as good? World of Final Fantasy is a really good port, does builder feels the same?

  5. TylerNessss
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:22 pm

    Thank you Square. Its is possible to give the Minecraft model something called artstyle.
    It doesnt look special to normal standards, but to Minecraft this looks amazing!
    Probably wont play it but. Still.. Good review though.

  6. Jason U
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:24 pm

    why is this video 30fps

  7. Critical Reviews
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:24 pm

    Great review Brandon! I agree with all your points. Still on chapter 2, but I thoroughly enjoy it! Good stuff.

  8. ChrisDSX
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:25 pm

    This game is a masterpiece! Worth owning PS4 for this alone

  9. albert joseph
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:25 pm

    Good one it’s nice and cool

  10. NekoJonez
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:29 pm

    I love this game on Nintendo Switch ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Joly
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:31 pm

    Man, it seems u guys have no attention of reviewing Tokyo Mirage Session and Shin Megami Tensei Apocalypse. That’s a shame ๐Ÿ™

  12. cubs2084
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:32 pm

    I looooove Dragon Quest. But this looks and sound really boring.

  13. Juupo
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:33 pm

    My favorite game this year. Long live Dragon Quest!

  14. Game Show
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:34 pm

    The voice of the reviewer is just like the former Gametrailers reviewer O.o

  15. Sir Fortesque76
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:35 pm

    I picked this game up today and am fucking LOVING it!!! It’s so fresh, fun, and relaxing.
    This is coming from someone who Hates Minecraft too, so if you’re worried you wont like this because you don’t like Minecraft, try it anyways ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Astral Frost
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:35 pm

    The music in this game is adorable!

  17. Emralled
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:36 pm

    I was going to skip this game but this review made it look so good, from the scenes used to illustrate what was being said down to the music choices, and especially the detailed rundown of pros/cons. This game really should be on the Switch though, that would be it’s ideal home. Excellent review Brandon!!!

  18. drd7of14
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:40 pm

    What a charming little game. Definitely waiting for a sale, but this is absolutely going into my VITA collection.

    And word on how the two compare, between PS4 and VITA?

  19. G MELON
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:40 pm

    what i always wanted was minecraft with STYLE and a decent BATTLE system. looks like we’re half way there with this entry.

  20. barunedpat
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:40 pm

    This game is coming to Switch now. Thanks for the review, it covered a lot of my questions.

  21. ninjammer726
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:41 pm

    this looks fun

  22. Heilutassu
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:42 pm

    is the "easy allies" a somekind of DLC ? i have this game but dont have that

  23. Mark Quanico
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:42 pm

    this game feels more at home on the Vita than on a PS4 IMO lol great review anyways

  24. Ryne Green
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:44 pm

    As someone who hate mine craft I was surprised by how much I liked this game

  25. John Rosen
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:45 pm

    I absolutely love this game. I’ve been a DQ fan since the first one on the NES back when it was Dragon Warrior in the U.S., so because the music primarily comes from the first three games, brings back so many memories – and the Slime Harp – which makes all the music 8-bit again, is perfect for old fans. I’ve had a PS4 for a few months now, and have around six or so games, and so far – even beating it a few times and making my goals and time attacks, I am still playing it. I don’t think – excepting Until Dawn and FFXV – any of my other games have even left their plastic wrappers. I hope they do a sequel to DQB, because I would be all for it – imperfections and all. Great review!

  26. Jade Nepia
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:45 pm

    lack of multiplayer seem strange for a game like this

  27. TheL1arL1ar
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:46 pm

    I bought this for my vita instead of my ps4, and I’m glad I did. Very chill game. Also it’s good to see some GT guys doing what they do, I for one was a big fan of invisible walls when Shane,Marcus,mike were on.

  28. Christopher Luke
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:48 pm

    Your voice sounds like the guy who did the Zelda and Metroid retrospectives

  29. iMYX
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:49 pm

    Where as, Theirs aplenty that can be improved upon as a constructive freeware might suggest, Unless UI IN-Sists, Theirs hundreds of thousands of ways the bedrock crumbles for monsterous intents under lacking containment peramiters and far too strickt on water.

    But it yet maintains BETA substance credentials as its critical build, Very very easy to expand enhance and introduce new substance,

  30. The Cynic Cycle
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:49 pm

    WARNING PERSONAL OPINION Saw an add for it a while back and I honestly didn’t think much of it played the demo and immediately fell in love definitely a hidden gem for PS4, hell it may even be a reason to buy one. The mincraft comparison is only justified that it has blocks the art style is completely different and is very colorful and refined DAMN I love this game it’s definitely made my top ten list it’s so under appreciated it’s sad the progression and introduction to the gameplay and concepts is seemless and the musical score fits extraordinarily well and personally makes mincraft look like a heaping turd compared to this refined gem while I will admit the combat isn’t perfect the game certainly makes up for it and when it comes to difficulty the game goes not for the "oh I just need more damage and health" or simply a physical brawl but the mental fight managing,collecting,building and slaying you will get swept up in this masterpiece that seemlisly blends RPG with Sandbox
    9/10

  31. Mohawk Gaymer
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:49 pm

    Nice review!

  32. Juan Alvarado
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:49 pm

    what Brandon doest work for GT anymore? he is the best Reviewer on the net

  33. Kit รŸallarษ–
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:50 pm

    reminded me that I should get this. Thanks for the feels D= hehe
    I hope if they make a 2 it has Online Multiplayer. Was always fun to build random stuff with friends.

  34. The Game Grinder
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:52 pm

    Every time I see more about this game, the more I want to play it. I’m just worried about the time investment needed. I’ll get there eventually.

  35. Connor Leary
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:54 pm

    Just this week on the podcast you guys were making fun of the GT days were every review had a pun at the beginning. Now you’ve ended your review pun style with the "chipping away" line! I guess old habits die hard.

  36. pyrright380
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:55 pm

    Did he say if there was multiplayer or not?

  37. Blindly Fumblin
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:57 pm

    So cool seeing the review editing stream come to life.

  38. insaner2play
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:59 pm

    In other words, make time and buy this game.

  39. Silent Undersea
    October 29, 2018 @ 11:59 pm

    I really hate that each chapter just takes away all your stuff and makes you do everything you just did over again. All the game ever felt like from chapter 2 onward was a huge grind. The stories in each chapter were kinda neat, but I couldn’t really give a shit because was just frustrated that it was standing in the way of me getting all the items back that I just had a few hours ago. Also, I know that it’s a Vita game as well, but I don’t see why that means the PS4 version should have Vita controls.. X is used to do just about everything in the damn game which is really fun when you’re standing in a small room full of people trying to use a crafting station. Meanwhile, there’s several buttons on the PS4 controller which see absolutely no use whatsoever. I don’t get it.
    Those were my main problems, but this is the type of game I’ve been waiting for in the block-builder genre. I would love to see a sequel that can smooth over a lot of the things wrong with this game. There’s a lot of potential here!

  40. Luke WalkingMoonTree
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:04 am

    I want this on Nintendo Switch so much

  41. Gabriel Moroz
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:04 am

    i want it but i dont have a ps4 or psvita

  42. Golden Hexagon
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:04 am

    not true just press the square to build so capable it says so when you say it can only build one at a time

  43. drd7of14
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:07 am

    I know Brandon reviewed this, but it doesn’t mention the platforms available, what platform it was reviewed on (Likely PS4, rather than VITA), nor who reviewed it.

    Is that a change going forward, or did Brandon Jones make an editing boo-boo. ๐Ÿ˜›

  44. Johnathan Lannister
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:07 am

    It’s the game trailers guy ๐Ÿ˜€

  45. seraphimxii
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:07 am

    Subscribed as soon as I found out this is where the GT crew went. Good to have you back.

  46. zodiac909
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:12 am

    Game has a nice soundtrack!

  47. UmJammerSully
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:12 am

    One of the best surprises about this game for me was how strangely dark it can be. Hit me right in the feels on a number of ocassions too.

  48. Derrick DesRoches
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:12 am

    This was a great review from what I’ve seen, but from another gameplay session I heard that you don’t actually have to make your base pretty/proper you just have to build the features the game asks of you. I really think they should have stated this in the review. That people (like me) who don’t care about the aesthetics might still enjoy this game .

  49. Mehzers
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:14 am

    Wooo! I’m still on a roll with guessing the review score before it’s revealed. Though I think this has less to do with my guessing ability, or more to do with the fact that the reviews are written so well that you can clearly tell what they think of the game long before the score is revealed.

  50. Leaf '
    October 30, 2018 @ 12:15 am

    4:55
    Voice:so you have to press X,a lot
    Me:well you could use the ?(square) button to make as many as possible…